|Section 2: Tinctures|
Heraldry for Non-Heralds
Section 2: Tinctures
WARNING: This section of the tutorial will start to use the odd language of heralds, known as "blazon." A mix of English and Norman French, the language is actually not that difficult to understand, once you get the vocabulary. The next few sections will be teaching you that vocabulary as part of the lesson. Most of this information can be found in other heraldic primers, but the primers are usually written for aspiring heralds, rather than for those who just want arms, and thus gloss over much of the information that confuses non-heralds. If I get pedantic, it's because I am anticipating questions I've already answered in my years as a herald in the SCA.
One of the first rules that heralds learn is the "Rule of Tincture," and it's a rule that they repeat over and over: "Thou shalt not place a metal upon a metal, or a color upon a color." Then they stare at you and expect you to understand what they're talking about. Do you understand? Of course not! You're just a fighter trying to get your device submitted! Allow me to help.
What normal people call colors, heralds call tinctures. They use the term so that they can differentiate between what they call "colors" or darker colors, and what they call "metals," or lighter colors. The heraldic "colors" are red, blue, green, purple and black. The heraldic "metals" are gold (yellow) and silver (white). Each of these tinctures has a special name, as follows:
Gold/Yellow - Or
Look over that list again, and memorize it as best you can, because from here on in, I'll mostly be using the special terms.
Looking back, the rule of tincture may begin to make more sense. As the purpose of heraldry is identifiability, items (charges) on your shield must have good contrast with the background (field). It's very difficult to see a white (argent) charge on yellow (Or) field, just as it's hard to see a purple (purpure) charge on black (sable) field. So dark tinctures (colors) can only have light tinctures (metals) on them, and vice versa. If you're still confused, here's a table that may demonstrate better (hint: if you have a hard time reading the text, it probably reads "NO"):
Seems straightforward enough. But what if one of those were two different colors? For example, could you put an Or charge on a field that was evenly split argent and sable? Yes. Why? That's for the next Section.
This is not an official publication of the Society for Creative Anachronism, Inc. nor does it seek to delineate SCA policies. The views expressed herein are those of the author, and do not necessarily reflect those of the SCA, its officers, members, or affiliates. All contents ©2009-2013, Kevin Rhodes. Please contact the author before reproduction.
|Maintained by Codex Herald. This page was last updated on Friday, June 27, 2014.
The heraldry.sca.org site is copyright 1995-2019 Society for Creative Anachronism, Inc. The copyright of certain portions of heraldry.sca.org are retained by the original contributors as noted.
External links are not part of the heraldry.sca.org web site. Inclusion of a page or site here is neither implicit nor explicit endorsement of the site. Further, SCA, Inc. is not responsible for content outside of heraldry.sca.org.
Paper texture used with permission from GRSites.com.